The bad apples in tourism industry (and a bit about politics)

I must thank all the commentators in my previous post. I do know that there are a lot things to be done. The struggle for a better Malaysia is a continuous journey. Everyone is responsible to make that happen. Along the way, there will be hiccups and confusion. There will be disparity between ideas and objectives. There will be gaps in expectations. That is normal. In the end, everyone must remember their role. If your political inclinations is in the minority, you must adhere to the political idealogy of the majority. Proper decorum must always be followed if you want to highlight any dissent.

If you are the majority, then you must be fair to everyone, including the minority. That is the spirit of democracy. One thing that everyone must remember; the leaders cannot please everyone. If they are competent and sincere, then they will do what is right for the whole nation.

Speaking of sincere leaders, I’d love to write more about Anwar Ibrahim but I see that many blogs have talked about him already. Actually everytime I write about Anwar Ibrahim, I would be smiling all the way. Why? Because he is an interesting character to write. Thank you Anwar Ibrahim for coming into my life. 

You have provided me with a lot of issues to talk about

Come to think of it, he is the only person that could make me smile everytime I write about him. As oppose to the more sombre characters like Lim Kit Siang or Pak Lah. By the way, Khairy Jamaluddin receives the most frowns whenever I write about him. No offence Khairy. It’s just you.

Tomorrow is the voting day in 3 by-elections. I do hope the voters there will know that each of their vote counts. So please do not throw away your democratic rights. Honestly, I think the chances of PAS winning Bukit Gantang is quite bright. I could be wrong. Nevertheless my belief is solely based on the absence of PAS crying foul over the existence of phantom voters. Usually, if PAS chances’ of winning any election was slim, they will claim that BN will bring in phantom voters.

That would be the first tell tale sign that PAS’ confidence of winning is minimal. But we do not see any of their leaders crying foul over phantom voters (yet).  I know my argument is very simplistic but I do think simple scenarios are the most obvious things to analyse.  

Therefore, I do think that BN machinery must work around the clock. In Kuala Terengganu, the night before election day, the whole of BN stopped canvassing for votes because they wanted to attend a concert called Pentarama. That was a huge mistake. BN workers and leaders must never stop for anything non beneficial. Instead, they should stop and ask themselves, “will this make us lose a vote?” everytime they want to do anything stupid.

For instance, seeing bodyguards of Umno leaders leaping out from cars before it even come to a full stop will not bring about more votes. Blaring sirens around kampungs just to signal the arrival of ‘para pembesar Umno’ will definitely be a turn off to the constituents. One should be more discerning to the feelings of the locals rather than to show the party’s strength and power.

Secondly, right after voting day, BN machinery must go to the ground again and do a survey on why have they lost (hopefully not) or why have they won. The result of that survey is crucial in the coming future. I cannot stress this more. This is a direct way in knowing what went wrong and what went right.

Anyway, I am digressing way too much from the main topic. I wanted to highlight the misfits in our tourism industry but was distracted by tomorrow’s elections. I guess we can never escape from being a political observer. 

Good politics give us good vibes but bad politics emit bad ones. Voters tomorrow must go into that booth feeling good about themselves. Only then they can make a sound decision. Good luck to the people in Bukit Gantang, Bukit Selambau and Batang Ai.


For the past one year, we have been experiencing several shocking news. Malaysia has never been the same. Wave after wave of political indecencies coloured our nation.

Political feuds and oneupmanship seemed to be the order of the day. Nothing surprise us anymore.

But two weeks ago, I read the most shocking news of all: 

Tourist abused by cabby who refused to engage meter

I’m Tushar Choudhury, marketing manager of an American firm based in Dubai.

I was in Kuala Lumpur last week to attend a conference and after a pleasant stay for most of the week, I encountered a horrible experience on the last day of my trip.

My colleague and I boarded a taxi at 3.45pm on March 14 in front of KLCC. The driver drove us to the Renaissance Hotel and asked for RM10 without switching on the meter.

When we refused to pay the amount and asked him why he did not switch on the meter, he drove us back to KLCC, shouting and abusing us all the way.

He even threatened that he would get us killed and dared us to complain to the police. When we reached KLCC, he tried to force me out of the taxi and tore off my T-shirt. When we called the KLCC security, he threatened us with a knife he had in the taxi. The KLCC security guard just stood there.

We took another taxi back to the hotel. We also lodged a formal complaint at the hotel. The complaint number is 2774.

I stay in Dubai and have been all over the world but never ever have I experienced such a thing anywhere. I was shocked that this happened to us in Malaysia.

Dubai, UAE.

Another story here:

An octogenarian lost his wallet, pouch and important identification documents when the taxi he had hired sped off before he could retrieve his belongings as he was getting out.

Omar Yong Teong Loo, 80, a Chinese Muslim convert from Lumut, Perak, told Bernama that the unknown taxi driver also did not turn on his meter and when he pointed it out received a scolding instead.

“I am an old man, I asked him to turn on the meter, he scolded me and called me rude names. He then said the fare was RM20. I pulled out my pouch, paid him and when I got out with one leg in the car and the other on the street, he sped off!

“He accelerated and sped off and I didn’t even manage to get my pouch back. I tried to get his license plate but I couldn’t see clearly. I stopped a police patrol car and informed them what happened but without the license plate they couldn’t do much except keep a lookout for my IC,” said a tearful Omar at the MAPCU-MQA Higher Education Fair at the Putra World Trade Centre (PWTC) here today.

Omar said he was supposed to meet a friend at the PWTC but without his cell phone, became lost and was forced to ask people around for money in order to get back home. — BERNAMA

I am flabbergasted. Bad vibes are everywhere here in Malaysia.

Letters from the public regarding our taxi service are pouring in everytime. Can be read here, here and here. Seriously, the new ministers in charge of Tourism, Transport and probably Entrepreneur and Cooperative Development must mitigate this problem fast.